Wednesday, January 24, 2018

EPA accepting nominations for Region 4 Rain Catcher Awards

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency said in a recent release that it is accepting nominations for the Region 4 Rain Catcher Awards for excellence in implementation of stormwater green infrastructure projects over the last year.

This is the fourth consecutive year nominations have been accepted for the awards, which are divided into categories that include municipal, commercial, tribal and neighborhood/community levels.

The deadline for nominations March 15; award winners will be recognized at a ceremony in Charleston, South Carolina, on May 17.

“The EPA Region 4 Rain Catcher Award recognizes excellence in the implementation of stormwater green infrastructure practices,” EPA said in the news release.

"Green infrastructure uses natural systems and/or engineered systems designed to mimic natural processes to more effectively manage urban stormwater and reduce receiving water impacts," EPA said in the release. “EPA and its partner organizations have promoted the use of green infrastructure for many years as part of a comprehensive approach to achieving healthier waters. Green infrastructure reduces the volume of stormwater discharges by managing rainwater close to where it falls and removes many of the pollutants present in runoff, making it an effective strategy for addressing wet weather pollution and improving water quality.”

For more information, go to:

Organizations in this Story

Environmental Protection Agency Region 4

Get notified the next time we write about Environmental Protection Agency Region 4!