Thursday, January 17, 2019

Ryan appoints 13 Energy and Commerce members for conference with Senate on energy package

Rep. Fred Upton
Rep. Fred Upton

The House recently voted to bring its amendment to S. 2012, a comprehensive energy package, in a Conference with the Senate, leading House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-WI) to appoint 13 members of the Energy and Commerce Committee to aid in House negotiations.

U.S. Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI), chairman of the committee, will lead 12 other House Republicans in the conference, including: Rep. Ed Whitfield (R-KY), Energy and Power Subcommittee chairman; Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL), Environment and the Economy Subcommittee chairman; Rep. Joe Barton (R-TX), chairman emeritus; Rep. Bob Latta (R-OH); Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA), who will serve as conference chair; Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX), Energy and Power vice chairman; Rep. David McKinley (R-WV); Rep. Mike Pompeo (R-KS); Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-VA); Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH); Rep. Bill Flores (R-TX); and Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK).

“The script has been flipped on our energy abundance, and it’s about time our policies caught up,” Upton said. “While we’ve got our work cut out for us, conferencing with the Senate marks an important milestone. This effort is about jobs. It’s about keeping energy affordable. It’s about boosting our energy security here and across the globe. I look forward to working with my colleagues in the Senate and my friends across the aisle to enact meaningful reforms that truly make a difference for folks in Michigan and across the country.”

Organizations in this Story

U.S. House Committee on Energy and Commerce

Want to get notified whenever we write about U.S. House Committee on Energy and Commerce ?
Next time we write about U.S. House Committee on Energy and Commerce, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.